DFL Senior Caucus Annual Membership Meeting June 28, 2023

Meeting was held over Zoom, with approximately 84 registered participants. Caucus Chair Kay Hendrikson presiding.

Kay called the meeting to order at 6:07 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was read by Vice Chair Don Slaten.

Bill Middlecamp reviewed the procedures for voting. Quorum is defined as a majority of registered members in attendance when the meeting begins. In this case, 38 registered attendees must be present to vote on anything.

Jeff Strand made and Tim Bonham seconded a motion to accept the agenda as published. Motion passed. Mel Aanerud moved, and Mary Bliesmer seconded, that Rules for meeting be adopted. Motion passed.

The Affirmative Action statement was read by Membership Director Mary Bliesmer.

The minutes from the previous Annual Meeting of June 5, 2022 were approved on a motion by Marie Hauser and seconded by Bill Middlecamp.

Officer Reports

<u>Chair - Kay Hendrikson</u> touched on the highlights of her published report: the Caucus's expansion and achievements in 2022, with membership tripled, better membership tracking, elimination of dues, increased treasury. We endorsed over 55 candidates statewide, sent

10,000 GOTV postcards; incorporated the DFL Code of Conduct into our charter; sharpened our operational and political strategies.

<u>Vice-Chair Don Slaten</u> said our goal is 1,000 members.

<u>Treasurer Nancy Stroessner</u> reported that our cash balance as of 5/31/23 is \$8,391.80.

Membership Director Mary Bliesmer: said we have 487 members in good standing, meaning they have renewed their membership before it expired. Bill Middlecamp added that renewal emails will be sent annually, along with other announcements, to those who have supplied their email addresses.

Standing Committee Reports

Recruitment and Welcome Wagon: Jennifer Willette said they are doing a pilot project with the East Metro chapter, using the VAN to identify DFL-friendly seniors. They will reach out to invite them to attend a chapter meeting, then making personal contact to form connections.

<u>Chapter Chair Director Mel Aanerud</u> reported that two new positions have been created since 2021: Chapter Coordinator Director and Chapter Development Director.

<u>Events - Sandy Sandoval</u> recalled the many events held in 2022-23, and the many guest speakers, including Governor Walz. There will not be a Summer Social this year. The 2023 Gala will be held October 29.

<u>Political Affairs – Mary Bliesmer and Pam Parker</u>: The Caucus endorsed 57 candidates, most of them screened by Chapters; 41 were elected. The Committee developed a Statement of Policies and Plans for the next election cycle.

<u>Technology – Bill Middlecamp</u>: acknowledged the contributions of Cindy Spellman, who manages the Caucus website, and Linda Hopkins who manages our Facebook page.

Governance – Mel Aanerud began enumerating the fourteen proposed changes to the Senior Caucus, which can be voted on as a group; individual items could be separated out for discussion if requested. (The reading was interrupted at 7:30, the time certain for Board elections. These will be covered in the next section of the Minutes.) The changes covered: The Purposes of the Caucus and the Code of Conduct; the definition of 'member in good standing' and the elimination of dues; written ballots not required but may be requested; new definition of quorum; addition of Outreach & Inclusion Director, who may be the same person as the Membership Director; a second Vice Chair can be added, who would also be a member of the Executive Committee; addition of Chair of Technology Committee to Executive Committee; change minimum for quorum for Board meetings from five to nine; deletions of unnecessary or obsolete verbiage.

A motion to accept the full set of changes was made by Linda Slocum and seconded by Tim Bonham. After some discussion of whether the same person should be both Outreach & Inclusion Director and Membership Director, the motion passed.

Caucus Board Elections: After Mary Bliesmer reread the Affirmative Action Statement, Linda Hopkins read the names of all the nominees identified by the Search Committee for Officers and Directors at Large for the next two years. Anne Starr nominated herself 'from the floor' for Director at Large. Linda Slocum made a motion, seconded by Katie Simon, to vote on the full number as a slate. A friendly amendment was accepted to vote on two groups: Officers and Directors at Large. The motion as amended was passed. Both groups were voted in. The new line-up of officers and directors is attached as an appendix to these minutes.

Our keynote speaker was our own Bill Middlecamp, who gave an excellent presentation on climate change.

Following some announcements, the meeting adjourned at 9:15 p.m.

Janet Conn, Secretary

Officers and Directors Elected June 28, 2023

Director

Position First name Last Name **Executive Committee** Chair & SEC Liaison Kay Hendrikson Vice chair Don Slaten Secretary Janet Conn **Treasurer** Nancy Stroessner Membership Dir Jennifer Willette **Technology Director At Large Directors 17** Director Tim Bonham Director John Corcoran Director Alston Dutchin Director Roger Gerhke Gary Director Hansen Director Marie Hauser Linda **Hopkins** Director Gene Director Jacobson Kelly Director **Patricia** Director Dwayne King Director Jean Lee Bill Middlecamp Director Director Joe Mullery Director Pamela Parker Director Darrell Paulsen Director Jim Reed Director Sandy Sandoval Director Tony Scallon Director Cindy Spellman

Anne

Starr